RSS

Passing Through or Running Buddies?

18 Jan

Ever thought of what roles people play in our daily travels that we call life? 

Ever wondered why we come across the experiences that we go through?

People come to our lives for a reason.  Some merely wave a hand and sprint right past us.  Some engage us in a little conversation, jog alongside with us and then move on.  Some, however, become our running buddies for life. 

So how do we know who stays and who passes by?  Should we treat our buddies differently from our acquaintances?    

Well, I would like to think of everyone as a running buddy.  I believe each person that crosses our path has something to teach us.  We learn from everyone regardless of the level of our relationship with them.  I tend to attach myself to people, however, I don’t make it purely emotional.  I have learned the art of letting go.  This helped me make the most of my relationships without affecting my own being.

Things happen in our lives for a reason.  We come across good times, not-so-good times, opportunities to stay in our lives, opportunities to move on.  In all situations, we just have to learn what we could and go on to the next chapter.  Similar to people, some things are permanent while some are temporary.  It’s all up to us to make the most out of it. 

Live in the moment and learn to let go.  It’s just how it works.  Besides, we can only hold on to what we can handle. 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Passing Through or Running Buddies?

  1. perkie

    January 25, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    I ponder this thing about people in my life quite a bit. It would be a big step for me to “live in the moment and learn to let go”. Thanks for starting this topic.

     
  2. crystalreflections

    January 26, 2007 at 9:47 am

    You’re very welcome, perkie. Whenever I need to let people go, I try to reflect on what good I have given and received from that relationship. Doing that helps me figure out why he/she passed through the road that I am taking. There must be a good reason, right? It’s just a matter of acceptance and then you’ll see, it doesn’t have to be a big step after all. Good luck.

     
  3. mkrules

    January 27, 2007 at 5:41 pm

    I have learned that people do not sometimes know or care about our expectations of them and that is why they do not or will not fill those expectations. We have to take people as they are and control our reactions to that. Then we have the power to decide who we want or need in our lives.

     
  4. crystalreflections

    January 28, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    I do believe in what you stated, mkrules. The same is true with our experiences. We have the power to choose which ones make the better of us and which ones we charge to experience. We just need to learn to keep on moving.

     
  5. Colleen

    January 28, 2007 at 11:43 pm

    I believe that most of the things that happen to us in life are choices and a small percentage are beyond our control. I want to thank you for starting this topic to remind us that we have the power to choose and the power to thank and to love and to bounce back.

     
  6. crystalreflections

    January 28, 2007 at 11:52 pm

    Very nicely put, Colleen.
    You are so welcome!
    I love that we learn from each other’s comments. Thanks for sharing your thoughts as well.

     

Leave a Reply

 
