RSS

The Secret To Conquering Failure and Achieving Success

24 Jan

And yet another great article from Anna Johnson:

Ever wondered why some people emerge from the most disastrous
failures and tragedies to accomplish even greater success?

People like Lance Armstrong, who went from rising cycling star, to victim of testicular cancer, to record 7-time winner of the Tour De France…

…and Rupert Murdoch, who (love him or loathe him), faced the financial disintegration of News Corporation in 1990, then went on to steer the company from strength to strength…

…Robert Kiyosaki, who became rich, lost the lot, and ended up sleeping in his car before emerging to write Rich Dad, Poor Dad and building an info. publishing empire…

…J.K. Rowling, who was a divorced, single mother on social security when she wrote Harry Potter

…and the many individuals who rise from near death or family crises to enjoy better health, better relationships and more happiness in general.     

Seems to me that something happens to some (unfortunately, not all) people when they’re facing their biggest challenges.

Something that, regrettably, actually eludes many of us when things are going well.

It’s called… self-discovery.

You see, those who beat enormous odds, seem to discover – or uncover – previously untapped powers that not only help them overcome the dire circumstances at hand… but also equip them with the qualities they need to accomplish even greater feats.

These people – the “winners” in life – don’t simply accept the failure or tragedy that besets them. They actively search for the understanding, courage and wisdom they need to defeat it.

If they make mistakes, they seek to understand WHY, so they don’t make the same mistakes again. If they face a crisis, they search for the courage and wisdom needed to get through it.

And having found these qualities – understanding, courage, wisdom and others – these winners can now harness them again and again. Not just to overcome failure, but to accomplish success. consistent winners reflect on both their successes and their failures.

Why did Lance Armstrong win 7 Tour De Frances in a row? Because he reflected and learned from each victory just as he would following a loss.

At the end of the day, if you are a willing student, failure is a most instructive teacher. It will help you discover or uncover latent powers you never knew you had. So don’t shy away from failure – use it to your advantage, as a chance to learn and uncover those powers.

But treat your successes as a time to reflect and learn too.

The upshot may well be that you spend more time “winning” than “losing”.

 =======

I subscribe to Anna Johnson’s newsletter and I love reading and learning from them… As requested by Anna herself(what an honor!), click here to go to her site and/or subscribe to her newsletter… http://www.successaccelerator.net

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 24, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

8 responses to “The Secret To Conquering Failure and Achieving Success

  1. mkrealist

    January 24, 2007 at 2:45 pm

    Very nice blog! I’ll read more later tonight when I have time.

    I’ve given you access to http://pinkvoices.wordpress.com

    Come visit if you wish!

     
  2. crystalreflections

    January 24, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    cool! Thanks mkrealist!

    I’ll check it out tonight when I get home…

     
  3. Anna Johnson

    January 25, 2007 at 1:39 am

    Hi there,

    Thanks for including my article here. I was wondering whether you might also include a link to my site http://www.successaccelerator.net on your website so your readers can read more, or subscribe to my newsletter, if they wish. Maybe at the bottom of my articles or in your blogroll…

    Best wishes,

    Anna

     
  4. crystalreflections

    January 25, 2007 at 10:12 am

    Wow! Anna Johnson in the flesh (or should I say on web page)! I truly enjoy reading your newsletter. You have really good articles so I have added you on my blogroll. I am honored to have you reading my blog. Please visit often. You are doing a great job!

     
  5. perkie

    January 25, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    I subscribed and am looking forward to getting the newsletters. Thanks, crystalreflections and Anna! This blog is giving me much to reflect on and learn from and I am grateful.

     
  6. crystalreflections

    January 26, 2007 at 9:50 am

    perkie, I’m sure you will love her articles. I know I do.
    I’m glad to share my thoughts and articles that strike me. Please visit often. Thanks for the kind words.

     
  7. mkrules

    January 27, 2007 at 4:07 am

    Crystal, I applaude you on this inspiring space! I am adding you to my blogroll chica! Thanks for brightening my day! MUAH!

     
  8. crystalreflections

    January 28, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    Thanks, mkrules. I never thought I would ever like sharing my thoughts. I wasn’t sure if I would like blogging when I first started. Now, I find that stating your mind reinforces what’s in my heart and my beliefs. I am totally loving it. Thanks for adding me to your blogroll. I’m happy to express my feelings and if by doing that, I could brighten someone’s day, that’s superb! Have a good week!

     

Leave a Reply

 
