RSS

Locked with yours… FOREVER

30 Jan

A little over a year ago, my mom sent me a text message.  It says:

“When you feel alone, look at the spaces between your fingers.  Remember that in those spaces. you can see my fingers locked with yours…FOREVER.”

I saved that message.  I thought it meant 2 things:

  • That she will always be with me in spirit even though we are half-a-world apart.
  • That everything will be okay if I just put my hands together in prayer.

Up to this day, everytime I feel down and burnt-out, I look at my fingers. 

It is a reminder that my mom’s just a phone call away. 

It is a reminder that prayer can move mountains. 

It is a reminder that in everything that’s going on in my life, I am not alone.

It is a reminder that my life is locked with my God, my family and my friends…. FOREVER.  I like the sound of that.

I thank my mom for this reminder.  It is a welcome beam of sunlight when I get clouded with all the concerns and stress of everyday life.

Whose lives are locked with yours?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 30, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Locked with yours… FOREVER

  1. mkrules

    January 31, 2007 at 2:16 am

    I really like this post Crystal! It makes me think of my mom and sister. They always are there for me, and I am for them. Crystal, you are a fabulous and refreshing air of positivity. Thanks for being you!

     
  2. crystalreflections

    January 31, 2007 at 10:04 am

    Yes, I love my BIG family. Here in the US, it’s just me, my husband, a daughter and a son. But back home… Did I say am the 8th of 9? I have 4 brothers and 4 sisters; 6 nephews and 7 nieces; 4 brothers-in law; 2 sisters-in law. Whew! We are there for each other. It’s comforting to know that I will never be alone.

    Since starting this blog, I find myself sensitive to the blessings that come my way. It seems like I look forward to writing and sharing my thoughts. Doing this has helped me stay positive and be thankful for all the good that are often camouflaged amidst the bad.

    Thanks mkrules! You know I read and enjoy your posts as well. You inspired me to start this blog. I admire that you know what you want and stick with it and what you believe in. Keep it up!

     
  3. mkrules

    February 4, 2007 at 2:15 am

    Thanks chica! That is a HUGE family!! How on earth did you share the bathroom??

     
  4. crystalreflections

    February 5, 2007 at 9:44 am

    hahaha!
    Believe it or not, we only had one to share. I grew up in one of the apartment units that my grandmother was renting out. It was a 2-bedroom, one bathroom apartment. The living and Dining room area is actually one large room and at night, we would move the furniture to the sides so we can lay our sleeping mats. We don’t have seasons in my home country so we didn’t need too many clothes. One room is for my parents and the other one is a combination of everything else. We keep our clothes in there and we hide the mattresses there in the morning. It was really fun back then. Can you imagine, 9 kids all sleeping in a row? And we usually sleep from the eldest to the youngest so it’s like looking at signal bars on our cellphones. (Can you hear me now?)
    Aaahhh, mkrules, thanks for giving me a chance to look back. It was really fun – it’s not as hard as you’d think if you’re in the middle of it all. At that time, that’s what we thought of as “normal”.
    Have a great day!

     
  5. mkrules

    February 6, 2007 at 11:32 pm

    Crystal,

    I had a sister and 3 step sisters at one time. 3 of us shared a triple bunk bed. It was fun, but the top was sooo close to the ceiling. It was kinda weird.

     

Leave a Reply

 
