RSS

My body, God’s home

05 Feb

Today’s Truth: 1 Corinthians 6:9 19-20 Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore, honor God with your body. (NIV)

How do we honor God with our bodies?  I have three words for you… DIET, EXERCISE and REST.  A healthy body not only allows us to serve Him through serving others, it also enables us to keep a sound mind and heart.  Being healthy in mind and body makes us more effective in everything that we do.           

DIET

I think, if I am not honoring God with what I eat, I am sinning. The sin may be in the amount I eat or don’t eat! Junk food, poor eating habits and gluttony have become acceptable sins to me, but they are certainly not acceptable to the One who created this body in which I live in.

EXERCISE

Because of our nature, women find it easy to find every excuse in the world not to exercise.   I, myself, have tons!  I’ll share some with you:

  • I am waaay too busy, I don’t even have time to breathe. (a classic!) 
  • I am too tired to exercise.  I get tired enough – why add more to it?
  • If God meant for us to touch our toes, He would have put them further up our body.
  • The advantage of exercising every day is that you die healthier. 
  • I don’t jog – it makes the ice jump right out of my glass of soda.   😉
  • I joined a health club last year, and haven’t lost a pound. Apparently, you have to show up.

Being a mom of three (yup!  My husband is my first child), I get up each morning with a lot of things in my mind – breakfast, kids dressing up, preparing lunch, looking at the time and oh, getting my self ready.  How can I ever find time to exercise?

You see,  I have made a decision years ago that I will make exercise part of my daily routine.  But there is one problem – I never did it.  So up to now, I have yet to see the fulfillment of that resolution. 

REST

Rest is also part of physical discipline. Physical rest is not an option if I am to function at my best. Sleep and play are spiritual obedience. I am created with a need for both and they must be kept in the right balance. God rested on the seventh day. He didn’t need to rest but chose to rest in order to model a powerful example for me to follow.   

This year, instead of making excuses, I will list my reasons…

  1. I can’t give my heart to God and keep my body for myself. My body is a temple that houses the Holy Spirit as well as my mind, heart and emotions.
  2. The way I service the body affects its operation and enables me to be more effective in Kingdom service.
  3. My family.  I cannot serve my family effectively if I am weak and sick.  I can’t let my family down by (a) not being able to serve them and (b) giving them the extra burden of taking care of me each time I am sick. 
  4. Being a good example to my kids.  I want my kids to grow up aware of their responsibility of taking care of what God has blessed us with.  I want them to grow up knowing how to take care of their bodies so they, too, can be of service to others.

I am convinced!  I am convinced to make this year, the year of fulfillment!  I am doing it!  And you, my dear readers, are my witnesses. 

Make time for exercise, watch our diet and rest enough! We only have one body – no trade-ins or exchanges. Extended warranties aren’t available! If God keeps track of the number of hairs on our head (Luke 12) then He is certainly concerned about our physical welfare.

And I Pray:

Father, please forgive me for not taking care of Your temple. I know that my health is important to You because You love me. You created me, forming me in the womb. Right now, I give my body back to You. I choose to eat healthy, exercise regularly and get the right amount of sleep. I pray that You will be honored through the discipline of my health. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 5, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
