RSS

Who are you?

23 Feb

You are YOU.  God made you, YOU.  And YOU are exactly who he wants you to be.  Don’t be somebody’s clone.  That person you’re trying to be may very well be trying to be you!  ~ Lucy Swindoll

This is tricky – well at least for me.  Being the 8th in a brood of 9 children, I feel that I am a secret recipe.  😉  I am a mixture of tiny tidbits of my other family members’ personalities.  It’s a good thing, in my opinion.  Growing up, I have learned to stay away from their “not so good” ways and to embrace the good ones.  I love watching and learning from them.           

9 years ago, when I migrated with my husband here in the US, I found myself having to make my own decisions (well, me and my husband’s actually).  I found myself having to make choices that’s only based on what we thought was going to be good for us.  This country has so many possibilities that we were never faced with.  So much so that it took us years to really settle in. 

In that whole process, I found myself.  I have found who I really am.  I realized that before I came here, my life was encapsulated within the lives of my family.  I realized that my decisions were based on whether it is acceptable to my family and whether it is something that they would also choose. 

Now I know who I am. 

I know that I was made to be unique and not somebody’s clone.

I know that I can be who I want to be by the grace of God. 

Who are you?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 23, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Who are you?

  1. Colleen

    March 4, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    Hey I just wanted to comment on your blog and say that I like it.
    Colleen

     
  2. crystalreflections

    March 4, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    Oh, thanks Colleen.

     
  3. Colleen

    April 19, 2007 at 9:16 am

    Hey Crystal I know I have not been here in a long time and I just wanted to say hello to you and see how things are going..

     
  4. crystalreflections

    April 27, 2007 at 9:28 am

    Oh, besides being busy…. everything else is good.
    My mom’s staying with us, currently. Yay! She’s here for a visit and will be going back to my home country in September. My kids are learning a lot from her and vice versa. It’s good that they are getting to know each other better. I didn’t realize until now that my kids have been missing having a relationship with their grandmas and aunties and uncles and cousins…
    Hope everything’s good on your end.

     
  5. Colleen

    May 2, 2007 at 9:56 am

    It is so important to make sure that you spend a lot of time withl your
    family!! Im glad you see the importance of that! Everything is fine
    on this end and Im glad you are ok.

     
  6. crystalreflections

    May 2, 2007 at 11:17 am

    You are so right. The kids are still adjusting.
    In our immediate families, we are the only ones here in the US. SO basically, my kids are missing having a relationship with 12 uncles, 11 aunties, 22 cousins, 2 grandmas – and that’s just the immediate family members. Whew! I am tires just counting them… 🙂
    I miss all of them.

     

Leave a Reply

 
