RSS

Striving for Excellence

29 Mar

“Whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward.” (Colossians 3:23-24)

Striving to live a life of excellence is possible when we begin to understand and act out the passage above.  Don’t work just for your boss or for a paycheck.  Instead, work for God.  When we love your family and show true friendship and kindness to others, it’s as if we are doing that for Jesus too!  When our focus is on God in whatever we do, we are living out His exciting purpose for us.  That’s why God wants us to put our whole heart into everything we do . . . every day.  And when we give our best effort for God, He promises to reward us.  Our life can be transformed by practicing this very basic principle of seeking to please and honor God in all we do.     

You can probably think of many times in which you simply did not give your best effort or didn’t really try very hard.  We all sometimes choose to be lazy and not try – and that is partly because of our human imperfections.  As with anything else, striving for excellence becomes easier as we develop the habit of looking into the details.  Sometimes the smallest thing can give the biggest impact.  “That’s alright” or “This is good enough” or “It is okay” shouldn’t be in our vocabulary if we were to practice excellence.  At the end of every task, we should be saying, “I did the best I could.” and if we are to do the same task again sometime, we need to ask ourselves, “What should I do to make it better?”. 

It is no secret that great achievers always strive to be better.  They never settle for comfort.  A wise friend of mine once told me that when you feel comfortable, that’s an indication that you need to step up and reach higher.  Look for discomfort so you are constantly growing and improving.  Another powerful thing to practice is, delivering more than what is asked for.  Just one step further, maybe a couple – and it makes a huge difference. 

I challenge you to think of excellence this coming week.  When you are done with a task, do just one thing to make it better.  Try to do this in every little thing.  For example, when you clean up your house in the weekend, add some fresh flowers or light a scented candle.  If you have friends coming over and you offer them some refreshments, scatter some chocolates on the tray.  You get my point.  I promise you that if you do, you’ll feel much better about yourself by the end of the week. 

Have a great weekend and please let me know how it goes…

 
13 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

13 responses to “Striving for Excellence

  1. MK Rules

    April 3, 2007 at 1:27 am

    You can use the BIDIAs along with this! Maybe “I didn’t feel like putting a thank you note in my order, BUT I DID IT ANYWAY”! 🙂

     
  2. crystalreflections

    April 3, 2007 at 9:06 am

    That’s a good idea, MKRules!
    Yesterday, I didn’t feel like splitting the food that we bought at a warehouse club in smaller containers… I didn’t feel like going there in the first place… BUT I DID IT ANYWAY.
    Now, I am happy I did…

     
  3. mkrules

    April 10, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    🙂 I am using this A LOT. It is seriously changing my life.

     
  4. crystalreflections

    April 12, 2007 at 8:25 am

    Hi mkrules!
    Sorry, I’ve been really busy lately.
    I am glad you are seeing results. Same thing on my end. The good thing about it, is it becomes a habit after practicing excellence for a while. Then it becomes you. Then you see results. Then you are more happy with what you do and can do. The rest just follows.
    Good luck!

     
  5. mkrules

    April 12, 2007 at 4:02 pm

    I am changing my job which is really really hard for me. My current employer treats me like family and it is so hard to leave, but it will mean more time at home with hubby and more time for school and MK while making same or more money. So I guess I hate to leave, BIDIA!

     
  6. crystalreflections

    April 27, 2007 at 9:36 am

    The good thing is, You already know that this is a better route for you. Like you, I attach myself to everything that comes my way. It may be hard today but years from now, you’ll be happy that you did. With your outlook and attitude in life, I’m sure you’ll get the good with you and make this one better. Good luck!

     
  7. colleen

    May 19, 2007 at 3:44 pm

    MK Rules I know what you mean. Its hard leaving a job where you know everyone and they like you but its better than getting fired!!!
    I wish you the best of luck!!! I thought I was the only one that attatched myself to things Crystal its funny you should say that.

     
  8. crystalreflections

    May 20, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    Oh, Colleen. That’s always a struggle for me. I am in IT and I attach myself to ALL my projects. I was recently moved to a different group so I had to turnover my projects to a coworker. Until now, I try to sneak into what’s going on and see if they needed my help. I am enjoying my new projects but I can’t help but wonder how they are doing in the other group. ;-|

     
  9. msmkpink

    June 20, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    This is my very first blog note..Whoo Hoo! I found another negative site by accident, and just started clicking until I found a few that I felt were genuine, and I have to say, I’m loving it! So I am here to tell you Thanks, you all sound great!

     
  10. crystalreflections

    June 21, 2007 at 5:44 pm

    Thanks msmkpink!
    We believe our outlook in life can get us through anything…
    It’s just a matter of seeing the glass half empty or half full. We choose to be the latter. I admit I need to be more active…
    But I’ll try… Enjoy!

     
  11. kmhchimo

    June 21, 2007 at 7:07 pm

    How’s the new job going MKR? Is it what you hoped for? And do you truly have more “quality” time with your family, or just more time to do housework?! smile Are you finding that you are able to book an extra 1-2 MK appointments. I found when I stopped working full-time that I ‘putzed away’ a lot of time, on computer, or reading, or sleeping, and never really accomplished what I wanted. Working for ME is a lot harder than working for someone else–ha! Hope you are enjoying your new life. kmh

     
  12. mkrules

    August 12, 2007 at 2:03 am

    Sorry it’s been so long since I peeked in over here!

    I like my new job, but it is still waiting tables. As far as that goes, it is one of the more profitable places to work in Dallas. A very nice steak house that is widely known. I’m getting to know everyone there and I’m glad I made the change.

    I have more free time now and do quite a few more MK appts than I used to. I am making a habit of doing my chores little by little each day so days off are truly off. This has been hard. One habit I have mastered is keeping the dishes in the dishwasher and unloading right away. Now on to the laundry…

     
  13. crystalreflections

    August 14, 2007 at 3:44 pm

    Hi mkrules! No worries… ‘nothing much going on here either…
    This summer has been busy, busy, busy for me…

    I’m glad everything is working out well for you.

    I’m working on “cleaning as I go” as well. I’m still trying to master the skill. It’s really really hard with kids… My mom’s going back home and now I need to set some deadlines for myself.

     

Leave a Reply

 
