RSS

Thought for the Week…

02 May

May we not become so busy, harried and over-committed that we neglect that part of our soul that is fed and sustained by friendship.                   ~Marilyn Meberg~

This, more than anything else, is a conviction for me.  I have been so busy the past weeks that I have neglected other more important things in my life.  I am trying to do everything all at the same time.  Naturally, I can’t.  I end up beat and tired in the evenings.  Maybe too much that I rarely go out and enjoy playing with the kids in the backyard.  Between chores, errands, driving the kids to their respective activities, I just cannot gather more strength to do just that.  My daughter asks me all the time if we can play at the park when I get home.  But then, I need to cook and prepare dinner.  So, even if I feel bad for them, my routine has been so regular that I find myself not even thinking about it.  (Ok, now I feel worse…).  My mom is here for a visit, but for some strange reason, I am more busy than I was before.  She helps a lot – I mean A LOT!  But why am I more busy?  I don’t have an answer for that right now but when I do, I will let you know… 😉

Here’s a challenge…  

Let us make this week (or what’s left of it) a week to make changes.  Let us shift our focus on the more important people in our lives.  I will focus on my family.  On Thursday, we are going to a local festival after my son’s swimming class.  My daughter wants to go back on Friday maybe after her swimming class.  We’ll see.  The weekend will be all about yard work but my kids love playing outside anyway, so we should be good.  We will definitely have a time to play with them.  I’m sure it’ll be fun.

 What’s your plan?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 2, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Thought for the Week…

  1. colleen

    May 12, 2007 at 3:10 pm

    I wanted to stop by and say hello Crystalreflections I do look at your blog when I get the chance.

     
  2. mkrules

    May 14, 2007 at 3:13 am

    Crystal: I suffer with this problem, too. I get busy and in a rut so easily it seems. I continue with the same ol’routine even when I know I need to change it and could make time for family, friends, dates with hubby. I will work on this with you!

     
  3. crystalreflections

    May 14, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    Hello, Colleen and Mkrules,

    It turned out to be a pretty good weekend. Even last weekend was great. I now have about 20+ pots of flowers and plants… The kids planted with me and was happy. My daughter was even asking for more stuff to plant. 🙂 It’ll be sweeter when they start sprouting… I can’t wait. It’s my first attempt to planting! I hope they turn out nice. I want to plant some vegetables too… We’ll see.

    It’s always nice to spend time with family. We’re going to have lots of visitors this coming summer and so we are fixing a lot of things at home. I think I will just have to involve them more. We’ll have fun and get a lot of things done.

     
  4. mkrules

    May 18, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    Since my last post on family, I had mother’s day dinner with my sister and grandma. It was a blast. We really enjoyed each other’s company and playing with my mom’s new dog. 🙂

     
  5. colleen

    May 19, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    Crystal and MK Rules Im so glad you all know the importance of family. So many people get caught up in work and material things and forget what is most important.

     
  6. crystalreflections

    May 20, 2007 at 9:42 pm

    Good times, MKRules!
    Colleen, it’s sad when I see family not getting along.
    I think family is such a wonderful thing. I have always been family-oriented but being far from home has given me more appreciation of them.

     

Leave a Reply

 
