RSS

Take Action!

13 Nov

This is in today’s article from Anna Johnson..

“BAM!”

Want to know what super-successful people ALL have in common? They take ACTION. Moreover, they take action FAST.

Internet marketing expert, Eben Pagan, recently spoke about this at his “Get Altitude” event. He referred to a study of successful entrepreneurs which found that they all tended to make decisions and act much more quickly than others. When placed in any given situation – whether it’s an opportunity or threat – they quickly consider their options, weigh up the pros and cons, then – BAM! – take action.

Now, this doesn’t mean that they make reckless or wrong-headed decisions. Remember, I’m talking about people who have achieved business SUCCESS! However, I have a feeling that many of those who have squandered everything and ended up bankrupt have also tended to quickly make decisions and act fast!

The difference is that successful people make the RIGHT decisions and act accordingly in a GAME they are skilled in. They don’t skip over the analysis bit, they just do it more quickly. And they don’t make hasty decisions – they have the skill, knowledge and experience to know what to do in a given situation.

But the point is, they DON’T get stuck in “analysis paralysis” or wait for conditions to be “perfect”. Once they have the information they need, they reach a decision and ACT FAST.

This action orientation is something you can develop and improve through practice. And practising is as simple as making decisions and acting more quickly than you do now!

 

This hit me really hard.  I have plans for myself and my family.  I have several options – but most of the time, I just think about it, plan a little bit and put it off aside. 

Could it be because I give myself reasons for not doing so?  Most probably.  Am I proud of it?  Definitely not.  Do I want to change that?  Yes.

So what, now?

This is a list of what I AM going to do…

  1. Embrace my dream – and believe that I am able and worthy of accomplishing this dream.
  2. Write down my options.
  3. Determine Pros and Cons.
  4. Weigh my options – make a decision.
  5. Devise a plan — and do it quickly!
  6. Take action!  Small steps lead to Big leaps.
  7. Take personal responsibility for the attainment of my dream.
  8. Be consistent.

I know there are a lot more things that I need to add to this list.  For now, it is a good start. 

I am ready to take action.  How about you?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 13, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Take Action!

  1. pynkmyst

    November 13, 2007 at 1:50 pm

    You know, someone said (might have been Mary Kay) that people spend more time planning their 2 week vacation than they do planning their lives. That just always stuck with me.

    One of the challenges for me, working from home, has always been sticking to a schedule and sticking to the plan. The article is so right about analysis paralysis…. some folks get stuck there more easily than others. 🙂

     
  2. crystalreflections

    November 14, 2007 at 8:37 am

    Myst, that is so true.
    I’m sure sticking to a schedule when you are working from home could be tough. You seem to have everything under control, though. I applaud you for being a model director. Your unit is very lucky to have you as their mentor.

     
  3. Angie

    November 15, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    CR, I really believe you can realize your dreams. You are laying the groundwork with good thinking and plans.

    Good Post, I love Biographys and the majority of the leaders that have met great success have been prepared for opportunity through their past experiences and that included a lot of set backs and failures. Rarely does one make it to the top of their game without taking a few steps backward first. That is how they learn to lead really, you know, been there done that, this worked, this didn’t. yada yada, Quick decisions can sometimes be rash although I am afraid I usually fall under this banner. lol!

     
  4. crystalreflections

    November 17, 2007 at 11:06 am

    Thanks, Angie…
    A lot of times I find myself moving forward and then a few steps back…. sometimes not moving forward again…
    I have to work on my self worth. That’s my biggest obstacle.

     
  5. pynkmyst

    November 30, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    Reflect this baby… you have been tagged!
    ~myst

     
  6. Angie

    December 1, 2007 at 10:52 pm

    Where are you Crystal? hope everything o.k. Know its busy time of year, just checking in on you.
    Angie

     

Leave a Reply

 
