RSS

Making Memories…

20 Nov

You know, my husband and I try to create memories for our family.  Being far away from home makes it more difficult because we become the only source – no grandmas, no aunts, uncles and cousins to share it with. 

Luci Swindoll said, “It is impossible to quantify a memory by the amount of planning or money spent to make it.  Wonderful memories are made when the spirit is right”

 

“…the spirit is right” – now that made me think.  When is a spirit right?  When is it wrong?  We can have all the best intentions in the world but does that guarantee having the right spirit ?

The holidays are coming and we may have the best feast ever created by man.  If we forget the reason for the feast, that makes it meaningless, am I right?  It’s like having a birthday party without the celebrant. 

I pray that on Thanksgiving day, we may remember all our blessings – and yes, be thankful for them.  May we remember all the people who have been with us throughout the year.  May we never forget that we are privileged to have what we have and that we shouldn’t take them for granted.  May we share our blessings to the less fortunate ones so they, too, will have something to be thankful for and create memories for themselves as well. 

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!!!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 20, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Making Memories…

  1. Angie

    November 20, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    What a beautiful post CR. My grandmother used to say and I quote
    “The road to hell is paved with good intentions”. Yes, we are making memories everyday whether good or bad. I pray they be good memories for our children.

    May your Holiday with your precious family be the best ever. Somehow, I think your spirit is right. I bellieve that your family that is far away will be with you in spirit too

    Happy Thanksgiving.

     
  2. colleen

    November 23, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    Hey reflections wanted to come by and say hello

     
  3. crystalreflections

    November 24, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    Thanks, Angie! It was nice and quiet.
    I cooked turkey for the very first time and it was successful. I need to work on my gravy, though. 😉
    I also got to chat with some of my siblings and my mom. It was good. ‘Can’t complain.

    Hi Colleen! I hope everything’s well with you.

     
  4. pynkmyst

    November 27, 2007 at 10:34 am

    What a great post!! Thank you girl!

     
  5. Angie

    November 27, 2007 at 3:48 pm

    Crystal, I have just tagged you, Don’t know much about it and certainly understand if you are too busy. but you have been tagged girl. Put the rules on my blog as per instructions. lol!

     

Leave a Reply

 
