RSS

Energy Management… the missing link?

23 Jan

I am all for Time Management.  That also happens to be my biggest struggle.  Reading this article from Anna Johnson’s newsletter gave me a lightbulb moment.  😉

I think Energy Management can very well be the missing link for the success of Time Management.  I agree with Anna that we cannot abandon one in pursuit of the other.  It has to be used side by side each other.

Here’s a portion of the article:

“Time Management – Is It Futile?”

According to consultants Tony Schwartz and Catherine McCarthy, we shouldn’t bother trying to manage time.

They argue that because time is a finite resource there’s no point. Much better, they say, to manage ENERGY, which is infinite.

While the focus of time management is often on trying to do less (i.e. fewer unproductive activities)… energy management is about being able to do MORE in the same amount of time.

Schwartz and McCarthy say that humans draw energy from four sources: the body, emotions, mind, and spirit.

By establishing certain new behaviors that expand and renew energy from each of those sources – as well as ceasing certain energy-depleting behaviors – we can do more in the time given.

Energy-renewing behaviors include having a healthy diet, regular exercise, sufficient sleep, breaks from intense work, and “down time”. Energy depleting behaviors include excessive drinking, smoking and incessant working.

All this makes sense, but I don’t think we should abandon the idea of managing how we spend our time just yet. We can eat, exercise, sleep properly and take breaks all we like… but there’s still a place for carefully planning our day, so we don’t end up wasting our time OR energy.

(Source: Tony Schwartz and Catherine McCarthy, “Manage Your Energy, Not Your Time”, Harvard Business Review, October 2007)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Energy Management… the missing link?

  1. Angie

    January 27, 2008 at 3:41 am

    Wow, Crystal what a thought provoking article. That is a new concept for me but it does make sense,
    Thanks for the great post. LOL!

     
  2. Darla

    June 10, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    Absolutely! I have FM/CFS and it DEFINITELY makes a difference WHEN I do things as to how much I can get done and how I will feel at the end of the day and/or next day.

     
  3. crystalreflections

    June 17, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    Darla,

    Honestly, I don’t know how you do it. I admire people like you who can get past the discomfort and do your best to live life fully. I get migraine at least once a week and it really affects my daily routine. I know that’s a mini discomfort when compared to what you have but I am no way close to how you manage yours. I bow my head to you. I love your blog and your decorating too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
