RSS

Exactly!

07 Aug

Sometimes, when i am at work or at my kids’ practices and games, I hear people around me complaining and whining about everything under the sun.  I am not a fan of complaining so obviously, being around all these just drains me.  A lot of times I want to say what Anna Johnson in her newsletter talked briefly about… 

“The Wisdom of ‘Put Up or Shut Up’”

You’ve probably heard the old saying: “put up or shut up”.

In other words, if you’re unhappy with a situation… either do something about it or stop complaining about it.

As simplistic or harsh as it may sound, there’s a lot of wisdom in that concept.

Because you really do have a choice between doing something positive… and doing something negative… about a bad situation.

You either change the situation – or how you feel about the situation – or you accept it and stop obsessing about it. Both are relatively positive ways of dealing with it. Doing nothing is less so, but still better than the alternative, which is to keep on complaining.

Even if you take steps to change… constantly whinging and whining is effectively recycling bad feelings over and over.

Don’t do it. Put up or shut up instead.

~ Anna Johnson ~

Exactly!!!  Do you feel my pain?  😉    It gives a situation a heavy feeling.  And as people talk about it, it makes it worse until you find yourselves in a pit struggling to get out of it.  It’s not worth it.  I believe that just as we try to choose our battles when dealing with our kids, so do we need to choose what is worth obsessing about in our lives.  I can’t live my life complaining about everything around me.  I just can’t do it.  There are so many people and things that are much more important and I am not wasting my energy worrying about “nothing” in my eyes. 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 7, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Exactly!

  1. Darla @ UltraBeautyBoutique

    August 8, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    Totally.

    My child came home from Kindergarten w/a saying “you get what you get, don’t throw a fit”. It was in reference to snacks, but I thought that was a good statement. Some things are just not worth the battle.

     
  2. crystalreflections

    August 10, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    lol! My daughter had something similar…
    “You get what you get and you don’t get upset.” So true, isn’t it?

     
  3. Angie

    August 22, 2008 at 2:31 am

    Amen, Crystal. I really enjoyed your post. Now I just need to remember it daily.

    Hugs

     

Leave a Reply

 
